I've downloaded the General's Edition... (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center

Grunt -> I've downloaded the General's Edition... (3/29/2006 3:09:25 AM)

and patched to 8.4. Now what? Is that all I need? I'm a little confused by talk about the mods, mech.exe, etc. Will scenarios from the SPWaW.com work with 8.4 or are they designed for mods? Should I be starting the game from mech.exe? Sorry for the basic questions.

BTW, I'm new to SP:WaW. Though I've wargamed for a long time. Started when I was 13 yrs old with the old Avalon Hill games; Guadalcanal and Midway. Eventually progressed to Advanced Squad Leader. Currently spending a lot of time on War in the Pacific. A great game. I hope to get as much enjoyment from SP:WaW too.

Russ

PS I live in the San Francisco, CA area.

azraelck -> RE: I've downloaded the General's Edition... (3/29/2006 3:39:38 AM)

Cool! Welcome to SPWaW. I'm the resident Sam Hall. Our troll is busy eating some infantry up, and I can't vouch for the rest.

That's all you'll need, and what comes with the game can last a long time. I still haven't downloaded anything yet, neither mod nor map. What comes with the game is just that good. When you installed the game, there should be a folder placed in your programs directory (start-all programs-ect). Just click on the icon that looks like two crossed swords that's named "Steel Panthers: World at War: and your good to go.

I think you'll find this is a great enough game to keep you occupied for a long time. I come from more medieval themed games, and this is among the most "modern" wargames I've played; and it's quickly become one of my favorites within just a few months.

Grunt -> RE: I've downloaded the General's Edition... (3/29/2006 3:57:08 AM)