How to Explain the Ratings System's Subtleties? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Sports] >> PureSim Baseball

KG Erwin -> How to Explain the Ratings System's Subtleties? (6/28/2006 12:22:55 AM)

When I first bought the game, this was the most difficult concept for me to get a handle on. Some of the more veteran players have helped in explaining how these interact, but there's "hidden" ratings, too, and an element of randomness which means that a historical season will never repeat itself in exactly the same way.

Apart from reading the manual, and experimenting with the game itself, I really don't know how to properly explain the ratings to a new player.

Amaroq did a nice job in the article he posted in "The Locker", but this only scratches the surface.

Quite frankly, I think a book would be needed to fully explore this sim's intracacies. The only thing I can compare it to is in learning how to play a musical instrument (I'm a musician, BTW) : easy to learn, but difficult to master.

It'd be nice to have all the "old" and present forum articles concerning the interrelationships of ratings collected in one area.

Don't everyone jump forward at the same time to attempt this [:D]. I'm just offering up some food for thought.

PadresFan104 -> RE: How to Explain the Ratings System's Subtleties? (6/28/2006 12:50:37 AM)

Yeah, it's all voodo booga as far as I am concerned.  In order to get around it, I'd like an in-game utilty that allows you to enter a players real stats (or projected stats) including everything that's included in the Lahman DB.  Then you just press a button and the game "imports" the player, applying the necessary calculations that end up being reflected in the players ratings.

KG Erwin -> RE: How to Explain the Ratings System's Subtleties? (6/28/2006 1:06:48 AM)