Shaun: Possible Performance Increase (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Sports] >> PureSim Baseball

Abev -> Shaun: Possible Performance Increase (7/31/2006 7:05:10 PM)

Shaun I came across this while modifying one of my addins. *My* standard discalimers apply: I am not a professional programmer. I could be way off on this one. But looky here:

In my bestplayervalue addin, I grab the recordset from table "Players". There is an option to include max age and players in the majors only. For BOTH test I used max age of 35 and players both in majors and in minors. Both recordsets resulted in 1354 players.

In the code there is a Do until rs.eof...where I calculate values on all players in the rs resulting in the output of my addin.

One test has "moPureSim.helperShowPleaseWaitMessage "Calculating Values for " & rs!FirstName & " " & rs!LastName" INSIDE the Do until, so the name would change each time a movenext occured. Total time to execute 326,609 milliseconds (ticks)

The other test was without "moPureSim.helperShowPleaseWaitMessage "Calculating Values for " & rs!FirstName & " " & rs!LastName" (commented out) so the helper just displayed "Calculating Values" where that message was places before the Do Until. Total time to execute 95,516 milliseconds (ticks)

The thing I dont know is if rs!FirstName and rs!LastName is a trip to the work db, or if it adds no extra time as the rs is there for the taking.

Almost 3 times faster *without* displaying the names. Is this an isolated case? If this is always the case maybe this could really help speed up the almanac creation?

SittingDuck -> RE: Shaun: Possible Performance Increase (7/31/2006 10:10:55 PM)

I understand not a word, I tell you, but appreciate the thinking behind this post.  I hope it generates some good outcome.

Remember Shaun might not get around to this for a few days.

Abev -> RE: Shaun: Possible Performance Increase (7/31/2006 10:40:24 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: SittingDuck