The AI In-Game Manager (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Sports] >> PureSim Baseball

KG Erwin -> The AI In-Game Manager (10/27/2006 1:00:44 AM)

After a hiatus of a few weeks, I decided to get back into playing. I'm a game-by-game manager, and I've noticed that the AI really isn't too shabby at managing.

I'm using the latest beta patch, with 50-man rosters (all real players, with the accelerated-entry feature ON) in the 1946 season.

Now, it DOES call up on pinch-hitters at some odd times, but it seems to know when to call a steal or go for the hit & run or when to play the outfield deep or when to make defensive substitutions. As for defensive subs, I suppose that's why the odd choices for pinch-hitters sometimes occurs.

I know that many guys prefer simming out games, but you oughta at least try a few in the play-by-play mode.

Shaun has done some interesting tweaking in AI managerial tendencies, and overall I believe it's working well.

I have a damn good team (IMHO), but yet I'm just 3-2 on this new real-player season, and I've already had two extra-inning nail-biters. I had one 11-inning game that ended up 1-0. This is in 1946!

I took full advantage of the AI GMs after spring training, and made a series of trades to beef up the Pirates.

So, I end up with a 19-year old Robin Roberts (who is very good but not yet fully developed) on my staff.

In any case, I'm having fun with this latest incarnation, so it seems (at least to me) that very few issues are left to be ironed out before the patch can be released.

Deltadog -> RE: The AI In-Game Manager (10/27/2006 2:18:39 AM)

You are right A-1 manager does do a fairly good job. A few things it does that puzzles me are:

1. Intentially walk a lesser hitter to get to the opponents clean up hitter who is also leading the league in homers and batting average.
2. Has his best 2 hitters sac bunt and then a lesser hitter strikes out.