Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> Forge of Freedom: The American Civil War 1861-1865

LuckyCJS1001 -> Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (6/11/2007 9:56:15 PM)

Hello all,

I am just learning the ropes here and playing the advanced game.

In detailed combat I am thrust into battle with no victory hexes. Trouble is How do I know where to find the enemy ? They are not to be seen on the map.

Do I just bimble around looking for them or am I missing something?

Chris

Erik Rutins -> RE: Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (6/11/2007 9:58:35 PM)

They will always start directly opposite your location on the map and equidistant from the center. What happens after that depends on how they move. A cavalry unit or two with the Scouts attribute can be very helpful for discovering their location quickly.

Gil R. -> RE: Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (6/11/2007 9:59:19 PM)

You and the enemy always appear on roughly opposite sides of the map, so knowing this should help. Cavalry make excellent scouts -- use them to prowl around.

If you're the defender, the enemy will find you eventually, but if you're attacking you need to look for them.

If you're a first-timer you might want to play with the "Near Start" option for detailed combat, since then it's much easier to find the enemy. "Far Start" is for more seasoned players who want to use the extra turns to find optimal terrain, dig in, etc.

Gil R. -> RE: Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (6/11/2007 10:00:04 PM)

Rutins! You beat me by 44 seconds. Who do you think you are -- Walloc?!?

LuckyCJS1001 -> RE: Detailed Combat - Noob Help Please (6/12/2007 12:12:55 AM)

Thanks all.

Not really playing strategically at the moment - just forcing random combats so I can see the Game in action. Guess I need to find the Cav and pitch them in.

You guys are going to get sick of me I'll warrant. :-)

Another question coming.