How to guarantee a level playing field (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Commander - Europe at War Gold

artyar -> How to guarantee a level playing field (9/14/2007 7:26:01 AM)

I am new at this. I am playing a game and getting my ass kicked. The player I am playing against (axis) was able to take over demark, holland, belgium and yugoslavia in one turn each. i.e. attacked and conquered on the same turn. Maybe he is just a great player...and that certainly is a possiblity...but Yugoslavia in one turn???

He is probably not cheating but when the above happens my eyebrows raise. Any thoughts??? Am I just being a crybaby?

VonManteuffel -> RE: How to guarantee a level playing field (9/14/2007 8:17:14 AM)

If he hits the city with all his air and then attacks it with units that have good leaders attached, they can all go pretty easily in one turn. Generally one would want to have Manstein attached (or maybe Rommel), but in some cases, with bad luck, the cities will hold out with one or two points left.

Getting good luck on all of them in one game seems unlikely without reloading, to be honest.

artyar -> RE: How to guarantee a level playing field (9/14/2007 9:10:51 AM)

Well if it is possible for Belgium and Yugoslovia to go in one turn then I am probably just being paranoid. there is no doubt he is a good player. Its just that I am playing in three other PBEM games and I have played the AI a bit too and I have just not seen the results he is able to get. When he attacked Russia he went through evrything like butter even though I had invested in labs, etc... I tried to counter-attack with all the armor I had been building and they were just eliminated. They did not retreat...they were just gone when he sent his turn. I think I might have just counter-attacked too soon. Live and learn I guess.

davetheroad -> RE: How to guarantee a level playing field (9/14/2007 12:29:01 PM)