RE: Unit size for senario creation (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Advanced Tactics Series

leastonh1 -> RE: Unit size for senario creation (11/11/2007 1:51:09 AM)

@kevinkin
I can't date it exactly, but also remember Perfect General and still have my copy somewhere! It's interesting you mention the abstraction of that game. I remember it now, but whilst playing the game I don't think it was that noticeable most of the time and I guess that's because the game dev made it possible for the scenario designers to work with some measure of flexibility. This also goes for AT and I do understand the reasoning behind the questions you and others are asking.

@all
But, to play devil's advocate, at what point do you draw the line and stop trying to be accurate or realistic or whatever word you want to use?
I'm not a designer. It's not something I've ever really wanted to try before AT and so am coming at this with a purely player's hat on. Perhaps I'm being a little too simplistic, I am not pretending to be a purist...but, if someone presents me with a WWII scenario for this game, with the unit names and equipment lists looking reasonable, along with a plausible scenario premise, I'm happy to suspend disbelief (this is a game after all!) and just enjoy the experience. However, I appreciate that there are people out there who would also balk if presented with a scenario where the calculation for the thickness of the front turret armour of a Pz Kpfw Panther II was 10mm out (it was 100mm by the way, and I wonder how many will check this!! [:'(]). To me, that's one step (or several) too far and takes something away from what should be fun, a game.