Combat system (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918

kokono -> Combat system (10/29/2008 10:31:42 PM)

Hi to alls,
I'm new to this game and I would like to know what is the system that is used in combat, how to know what drives us to fight? How do you know the odds of success in a fight?
Thanks

hjaco -> RE: Combat system (10/29/2008 11:29:57 PM)

I would recommend you to read through the manual which explains activation of units and combat in detail [;)]

lordhoff -> RE: Combat system (10/30/2008 3:13:09 AM)

As for part one of your question, see prior post. The manual is not at all detailed in many ways, however, and the relative value of corps is one of these. There is a detailed post somewhere in here, if you do a search after subscribing to "GoA" and checking "subscriptions only" (or you'll get results for all the games)for "what do the letters mean" or something similar, it should pop up. I'm no expert but the overall is that:
- higher numbers mean higher amounts of soldiers
- "A" is the highest quality down to "E" (I believe) being the lowest
- Quality (letter on lower right) also varies by country so one country's "A" troops may not be as good as. say, another's "B" troops.
- Readiness (the number in the box) is "9" being the best and "0" being the worst - this varies depending on combat results, supply, time since combat, etc. Rule of thumb is to not attack with readiness less then "5".

Hope this helps, but again, the post in the forums that helped me so much is still there and much more detailed.
-

ILCK -> RE: Combat system (10/30/2008 10:33:36 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: lordhoff
- Quality (letter on lower right) also varies by country so one country's "A" troops may not be as good as. say, another's "B" troops.
-

Is this true? Really, and if so why?

hjaco -> RE: Combat system (10/30/2008 12:20:56 PM)