Cheers to our Vets-from every nation (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

jimi3 -> Cheers to our Vets-from every nation (11/12/2008 2:06:46 AM)

C’mon guys (or gals), this is Veteran’s Day. This is the “official” day we need to honor all the men and women who have served and sacrificed so much for us. We wargamers should be especially cognizant of the importance of this day. By definition, through our passion for history, we know more than the average person about the true devastation of war. Only those of you that have been there, you veterans, really know the truth. I’m a cop; I’ve heard a gun fired in anger twice in 24 years. It’s not fun or pretty. Today, I have been reading arguments that a World War I game doesn’t have the best graphics or the “rules” aren’t detailed enough. In WAR, that the AI troops aren’t set up correctly and die to soon. Today, we should remember that these troops we lead on our PCs, and loose, do represent real soldiers that fought in our wars of fascination and choice. Excuse me for rambling. I am now tipping a Guinness to all the veterans, past present and future. As a community, let’s remember what we are holding sacred with our gaming. We, of all people, should never forget. I apologize in advance if I offended anyone Thank you, Veterans!!!
Cheers, Jim
[sm=00000436.gif]

Greybriar -> RE: Cheers to our Vets-from every nation (11/12/2008 2:35:43 AM)

Happy Armistice Day everyone.

thegreatwent -> RE: Cheers to our Vets-from every nation (11/12/2008 3:57:20 AM)

Indeed, bless you Veteran's!

stevemk1a -> RE: Cheers to our Vets-from every nation (11/12/2008 6:19:52 AM)

In Flanders Fields

In Flanders fields, the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below...

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved, and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields...