RE: 23 June (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition

Charles2222 -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 2:01:14 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: medicff

quote:

ORIGINAL: Terminus

I think the "for shame" goes to the domestic printers who can't deliver competitive prices.

Well they could if we work for $2 per day. Simple math. [:D]

Yes, inmates and political prisoners tend to work awfully cheap.

Charles2222 -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 2:03:16 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: tocaff

The printer is located in Brazil, Rio to be exact.  The workers don't show up on Mondays and Fridays.  The other work days see the workers go to lunch and then the beach, never returning to work.  [8D]

I would presume Brazilians and Chinese don't get time off for american independence day anyway.

Alfred -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 7:58:14 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Canoerebel

I'm a publisher and an editor and I've dealt with printers in the U.S., New York (that's not part of America, it's Yankee-held territory), and China (Hong Kong).  There is a good printer in Hong Kong that can print high quality publications for 1/2 to 1/3 of the cost of a domestic printer.  That's such a huge savings that many publishers have no choice but to go with it even though they might prefer to go with "Printed in the USA" if possible.  I'm sure the disparity is partly due to differences in wage scales. 

Don't underestimate the impact of exchange rates. You do realise that some countries like to artificially maintain undervalued currencies in order to boost exports - one way to get around GATT requirements.

Alfred

Terminus -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 9:11:55 AM)

Let's stop talking about politics now, shall we?

Tophat1815 -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 11:31:38 AM)

Have the damn manuals made port yet?[8|]

Sardaukar -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 11:38:24 AM)

I hope they have GPS tracker on that damn ship! [:D]

m10bob -> RE: 23 June (6/30/2009 11:58:18 AM)