Trival note about rule book (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815



Message


Dancing Bear -> Trival note about rule book (1/27/2010 3:31:34 AM)

Hi all

this is likely just be a trival misprint in the rules, but the Rule 9.3.1 says that in the event of a tie, the intercepting (phasing) force losses. Surely this is the non-phasing player, because the intercepting force can not be the phasing force. The way the game is set up the intercepting force losses ties. I suspect the rules should read the intercepting (non-phasing) player losses in the event of a tie.

Also on the subject of the naval rules, the handy summary table (14.5) at the back should likely indicate that blockading forces automatically get wind guage, not just fleets attacking ports.

DB




Dancing Bear -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/27/2010 3:38:13 AM)

Does anyone recall if what the original EIA rules say about fleets leaving a blockade box into a blockading force. Are they the ones they start the combat. and would lose ties?




pzgndr -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/27/2010 12:08:14 PM)

Got it.  Marshall can confirm and I'll get it into the v1.08 updated manual.




ndrose -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/27/2010 1:43:38 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Dancing Bear

Does anyone recall if what the original EIA rules say about fleets leaving a blockade box into a blockading force. Are they the ones they start the combat. and would lose ties?


I don't see anything in the rules that addresses this narrowly (maybe I missed something), but (to confirm what you wrote earlier) the intercepting force is generally considered the attacker and so loses ties; and blockades are called automatic interceptions. That would imply to me that the blockader is the attacker and loses ties, but as I say maybe I overlooked a specific exception for that case.




Jimmer -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/27/2010 9:27:42 PM)

In the original rules, the phasing player in a BB combat is considered the attacker, and must therefore win the encounter. In other words, blockader wins ties. This is different from other interceptions, where the intercepter loses ties. There was a separate rule covering it (6.2.3.2.1).

However, this was worded badly in the rules. So, they had an example at the end of the rulebook that made it clear.




Dancing Bear -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/28/2010 2:19:01 AM)

Hi Jimmer
I'm not sure if this is right. Where does it say that the fleet trying to run the blockade is the attacker?




Dancing Bear -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/28/2010 2:20:29 AM)

Thanks pzgndr

quote:

ORIGINAL: pzgndr

Got it.  Marshall can confirm and I'll get it into the v1.08 updated manual.





ndrose -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/28/2010 2:27:41 AM)

Jimmer, can you quote the relevant example? 6.2.3.2.1 just says that the phasing fleet has to win the combat in order to move out of port, but it doesn't say whether equal casualties count as winning or losing, which is the question.




Marshall Ellis -> RE: Trival note about rule book (1/28/2010 1:16:29 PM)

I will update the in-game manual!




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
1.25