Newbie commander - BTR, sitting in Galland and Speer's seat (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's Eagle Day to Bombing the Reich >> The War Room

Erkki -> Newbie commander - BTR, sitting in Galland and Speer's seat (2/19/2010 10:03:32 PM)

While I'm new to the game, actually nearly every heavy-duty strategies, I'm not new to military aviation history, which belongs to my hobbies, or simulators; been (mostly flight) simming nearly last 10 years...

So far in my BTR campaign the 4th is about to rise, casualties are 111:305(of 152 x B17, 10 x B26, 16 x misc. bombers); Bomber Command hasnt showed its ugly face yet. While casualty rates look great, way below max sustainable casualties, I think so are the Allies'(apart from B17s perhaps, 50/day [:D])

I'm pretty sure some of these questions are answered in the game manual(which I didnt bother to read all through), but hwg...

Squadrons; can squadrons be completely wiped out, or can they be created(ie. if I'd have been rather succeffull in avoiding Spitfire strafe attacks and had lots of extra pilots and planes...)? Or will I just have very weak and/or overstrong squadrons?

How does the reinforcement pool work? Will it automatically, at the end of each turn, ship squadrons missing aircraft the aircraft they need provided that there happen to be enough in the pool, or what?

The German radars, in BoB the radars scanned above 3000ft(long range, white) and above 500ft(smaller, red), I have a _feeling_ that this is not the case in BTR... Or is it?

Aircraft have cruise speeds and top speeds; however speed is(or should be) altitude-dependant... Is this modelled? If it is, is there any way info on how top speeds varying depending on altitude are modelled could be dug up? Or do planes just get positive/negative bonuses at some altitudes?