Any would-be Field Marshalls... I Need Advice (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series

Uhtred -> Any would-be Field Marshalls... I Need Advice (3/1/2011 8:21:25 PM)

I'm new to the game and am only just starting to get my feet wet. I played through the "Road to Smolensk" scenario once already and managed a major defeat at the hands of the Russians. I've started again and tried to correct some of my earlier mistakes, but I now face a bit of a dilemma. My offensive has run out of steam after just two turns. See attached screen shot.

It's the end of turn 2, and so far things have gone very well. I used the 2nd and 3rd panzer Groups in a pincer to complete a massive encirclement of nearly all the troops on the frontier, closing it about 40 miles west of Minsk. On turn 2, the 4th and 9th Armies pushed east and annihilated everything in the pocket (the Russians have already lost more than 360,000 men and more than 1,600 aircraft). In oder to set up another encirclement as quickly as possible, the 2nd Panzer Group took Minsk and headed further East to try and cross the Dnepr at Mogilev (in order to approach Smolensk from the south). I immediately shifted the 3rd Panzer Group North to establish a river crossing of the Daugava river within the baltic rail zone (hopefully allowing them to quickly establish supply lines). The 3rd Panzer Group can then head south east to take Vitebsk and then Smolensk. Ideally I can create another pocket using my two Panzer Groups.

In the meantime, the plan is for the 9th Army to head directly for the Orsha land bridge while the 4th Army will skirt the northern edge of the pripyat marshes (I leave what's in the marshes to rot there) and the 4th will hopefully be able to take Gomel. The 2nd Army, which is still frozen, will act as a reserve for the time being.