Newbie here (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> War In The Pacific - Struggle Against Japan 1941 - 1945 >> The War Room

jallison86 -> Newbie here (8/24/2011 6:42:17 PM)

Hello all,

I'm brand new to the game (a bit late, I know). I've muddled through the training scenario enough times to get the hang of how the system flows. I then tried the Coral Sea scenario, but it seemed like the job of the US carriers in that one was to mostly hide from the Japanese. I should go back and try it again, though, I suppose. I've been playing the Marianas scenario as the US and while I've figured a few things out I'm still wondering about several issues. Before plunging into one of the longer scenarios I'd like to get a better understanding of some of this. If the answer is RTFM that's fine...I'll admit that I haven't read the whole manual yet.

First off, land combat and transport. As the US in this game you need to invade and capture a number of Japanese bases. So while the Navy was busy trampling the land-based Japanese airpower, I loaded up the Marines and sent them to Saipan. It's pretty easy to pick the infantry units with high assault values, but there are lots of land units on Eniwetok and I'm not sure how to use them all. Should I be sending a mix of infantry, armor, artillery, and engineers? Or just send the Marines first and the other stuff later? How about HQ units...are they of value in these short scenarios? And which transport is "best?" Seems like I want to use AK's for supplies and landing craft for troops and armor but that's about as far as I've got it figured out. The documented play-through of the training scenario instructs you to use a variety of transport craft but doesn't explain why you choose one over another in any particular case.