Getting started (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

WAMedic_slith -> Getting started (12/26/2012 3:46:01 PM)

Long time WWII nut and very sporadic wargamer (so I guess you would have to call me a noob). Back in the days I played the original Close Combat series (looks like Matrix has really improved on that series). Once upon a time I tried The Operational Art of War...wow, I was totally overwhelmed and had NO IDEA what I was doing.

So I'm looking to get back into some wargaming that:
1. Has a historical element to it - battles that attempt to re-create history
2. Does not involve micromanaging tons of resources. Just interested in purchasing units and managing the battles...not interested in what resources each country has for factory production, economy, etc.
3. Would be considered a beginner to intermediate level game...while I know a few tactics from playing around with other games I'm still an extreme rookie at military tactics.
4. Not a huge preference between real-time and turn based.

Any suggestions? I was looking at Battle Academy as it appears to have gotten good reviews but is it a little too simplified? I like to see a lot of different unit types and weapons, helps to learn a little about the history of what the troops were facing. Panzer Corps doesn't look like a bad starting spot...or would the Close Combat series that has been re-done by Matrix game work the best?

Obviously at first I'll be playing solo but eventually it would be nice to play a human opponent so I guess that needs to be a factor too.

Any help all you veterans can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

DaBoost -> RE: Getting started (12/26/2012 4:05:54 PM)

Though not a Matrix published game, you could take a look at the Combat mission or Theatre of war series of games or if you're not too keen on graphics, you could try the Steel panthers games, which are free by the way.