Cant' colonize planets? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series

MrDeadshot -> Cant' colonize planets? (7/6/2013 8:48:21 PM)

Hello everyone,

I am new to the game and the forum. Started my first game today in dark age mode and got to build a colony-ship. When I target a colonizable planet and say "colonize" with this ship it flies to the destination and stops right in front of the planet. Nothing else happens. The fuel of the ship depletes and it's status always says "colonizing planet xy" - I tried this with several colony ships on different planets. Manually and automated. It does not work. Am I missing something?

FirstPappy -> RE: Cant' colonize planets? (7/6/2013 9:02:52 PM)

Not sure what happens if you exceed the colonization limits that are set at the start of the game. Could it be that?

MrDeadshot -> RE: Cant' colonize planets? (7/6/2013 9:13:11 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Pappy

Not sure what happens if you exceed the colonization limits that are set at the start of the game. Could it be that?

Can't remember setting a limit and I only have one planet (my homeworld) at the moment. So it must be possible to colonize the planet.

MrDeadshot -> RE: Cant' colonize planets? (7/6/2013 10:17:37 PM)

Tried another game and there colonization works fine. Another strange thing: In the game where I can't colonize anything I didn't have a colony-ship blueprint and I had to design my own colony ship (even when designing was 100% automatic) ... maybe a bug?

MrDeadshot -> RE: Cant' colonize planets? (7/6/2013 10:54:29 PM)

Okay I found the problem ... my colony ship was TOO SLOW! [sm=00000117.gif]
It couldn't catch up with the planet rotating in his orbit [sm=dizzy.gif]

Added some boosters and everything works fine :D

elanaagain -> RE: Cant' colonize planets? (7/7/2013 3:39:10 PM)