Noob Question - How do I get better? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> After Action Reports

Dangun -> Noob Question - How do I get better? (7/21/2013 7:51:13 AM)

I am a noob.
I bought this game a couple of weeks ago and have played the tutorial and 8 or 9 of the on-the-road-to-XX scenarios.

I think I have figured out that I won't get any better playing the Soviets and watching the AI's strategies/tactics.
So I was wondering what's a good way of getting better? Should I just crank up the difficulty level; or are there particular clear (noob-oriented) AARs out there; or scour the rule book for optimizations that I am just not using yet?

I am guessing that I am still too nooby for a human opponent. My opponent might actually resent the time spent demonstrating how bad I was, unless the WitE community is peculiarly tolerant.

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers

Peltonx -> RE: Noob Question - How do I get better? (7/21/2013 8:15:06 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Dangun

I am a noob.
I bought this game a couple of weeks ago and have played the tutorial and 8 or 9 of the on-the-road-to-XX scenarios.

I think I have figured out that I won't get any better playing the Soviets and watching the AI's strategies/tactics.
So I was wondering what's a good way of getting better? Should I just crank up the difficulty level; or are there particular clear (noob-oriented) AARs out there; or scour the rule book for optimizations that I am just not using yet?

I am guessing that I am still too nooby for a human opponent. My opponent might actually resent the time spent demonstrating how bad I was, unless the WitE community is peculiarly tolerant.

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers

Up the AI some, then read up on the AAR's.

Then play a game is Russian as that side is easyer then GHC.

I played vs AI and read AAR's for 2 months before playing my first human vs human 41-45 game.