Minor country reorganization (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support



Message


Courtenay -> Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 3:15:15 AM)

Rule 11.18.4 states:
quote:

However, you double the reorganization cost of a unit if any reorganization point came from a co-operating major power or minor country.
Does this rule mean that reorganization costs are doubled if a reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or any minor country, or does it mean that the costs are doubled only if the reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or a cooperating minor country? That is, does the adjective "cooperating" apply to both "major power" and "minor country", or only to "major power"? In particular, if a minor country reorganizes its own units, should the reorganization cost be doubled?

I thought not, but MWIF disagrees, and when I parsed the rule I realized the rule was ambiguous.




brian brian -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 3:30:59 AM)

would need a more specific example...

A minor country HQ would reorganize units based on the action choice of its controlling Major Power. So a minor country aircraft would require 2 re-org points after a Land impulse, for example. ?




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 3:38:55 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Rule 11.18.4 states:
quote:

However, you double the reorganization cost of a unit if any reorganization point came from a co-operating major power or minor country.
Does this rule mean that reorganization costs are doubled if a reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or any minor country, or does it mean that the costs are doubled only if the reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or a cooperating minor country? That is, does the adjective "cooperating" apply to both "major power" and "minor country", or only to "major power"? In particular, if a minor country reorganizes its own units, should the reorganization cost be doubled?

I thought not, but MWIF disagrees, and when I parsed the rule I realized the rule was ambiguous.


These rules were a royal pain to code. The beta testers kept finding subtleties that required me for refine the code. There is no easy way to explain how the calculations are done, because the calculations are very difficult to do.

Action choice, unit type for unit being reorganized, unit type of HQ providing reorganization points, ATR type that provides reorganization points, cooperating major powers, minor countries, offensive chit used. These all affect the points required by the unit and the point(s) provided by the reorganizing unit. The points spent in the naval, air, and HQ reorganization phases are cumulative, so the program has to keep that straight too.

Trying to figure this out precisely in your head will give you a headache. My advice is just use the reorganization points as simply as possible and don't try to do anything 'clever' with them to eek out one more reorganized unit. In the long run, this will save you a lot of time, effort, and grief.




paulderynck -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 6:24:46 AM)

It's not that difficult. Unit is same country as the HQ - minimum re-org points. Different country unit from the HQ (and cooperates, of course) - double. In both cases the cost is as per the action choice of the unit.

Edit: I meant not difficult to understand playing over the board - I'm sure coding it was an entirely different can of worms.




Courtenay -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 11:17:08 AM)

quote:

It's not that difficult. Unit is same country as the HQ - minimum re-org points. Different country unit from the HQ (and cooperates, of course) - double. In both cases the cost is as per the action choice of the unit.
That's what I thought. In that case MWIF has a bug. Look at the picture. It costs the Dutch TRS 2 reorganization points to reorganize the British BB, which is correct, as this is a naval move, and the TRS is a different nationality. Unfortunately, the two Dutch ships are also 2 reorganization points, when they should be 1. (The CW aligned the Netherlands.)

[image]local://upfiles/30467/C0912323A9FD4EDD853B28328A2E87B6.jpg[/image]




Joseignacio -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 12:10:01 PM)

I think it's not a bug.

AFAIK, you cannot ally Netherlands to CW unless they are at war (we are not supposed to be talking about NEI) so these ships are most probably British ships of Netherlands origin.

If this is the case, the cost if I remember well should be 1 point for any of them pure CW ships and CW formerly Netherlands ships, or 2 for any of them if the impulse is not a naval impulse.




Centuur -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 12:24:37 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

I think it's not a bug.

AFAIK, you cannot ally Netherlands to CW unless they are at war (we are not supposed to be talking about NEI) so these ships are most probably British ships of Netherlands origin.

If this is the case, the cost if I remember well should be 1 point for any of them pure CW ships and CW formerly Netherlands ships, or 2 for any of them if the impulse is not a naval impulse.


In a naval impulse it costs 1 point to reorganise any ship of the same nationality and 2 to reorganise a ship of a different nationality. So it's a bug.






Joseignacio -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 12:46:52 PM)

Ok, you re saying the same ruling that i wrote in my previous post, although I was wondering whether it's a naval impulse or not. Now I double-checked post #5 and he says it's naval. Ok, it's wrong. But not because of being a minor country reorganizing a major.

The only way CW can align the Netherlands in this version of WIF (no DoD) is if the Netherlands is declared war. And considering that the Netherlands has only one land unit most probably the Netherlands has being incompletely conquered and those ships are CW's so they don't have the minor country rule doesn't apply.




Centuur -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 2:33:19 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

Ok, you re saying the same ruling that i wrote in my previous post, although I was wondering whether it's a naval impulse or not. Now I double-checked post #5 and he says it's naval. Ok, it's wrong. But not because of being a minor country reorganizing a major.

The only way CW can align the Netherlands in this version of WIF (no DoD) is if the Netherlands is declared war. And considering that the Netherlands has only one land unit most probably the Netherlands has being incompletely conquered and those ships are CW's so they don't have the minor country rule doesn't apply.

But the ships only become CW if the Netherland is completely conquered. I don't think Dutch Guyana and NEI have been conquered by the Axis...




Joseignacio -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 4:05:00 PM)

Really? [&:][sm=00000116.gif]

I guess you must be right 'cause being your country Netherlands you probably paid much more attention to this details. Then we have been playing it wrong for more tan 10 years... I guess people treat them like CW because there is very few aspects (being reorganization one of those) where it affects the gameplay.

We consider them 100% british even with an incomplete conquest, I guess because of the special ruling of the Netherlands in the game (NEI creation).




Courtenay -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 4:05:10 PM)

The screenshot was taken the same turn that Germany declared war on the Netherlands. The Netherlands had been overrun, but the conquest phase hadn't happened yet, so the Netherlands units were still their own, not British.




Joseignacio -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 6:06:29 PM)

Ok, then I would agree with Centuur.

Centuur, I spoke with the guy who is supposed to know more on WIF in my group and he disagrees with you, in his opinion had the Netherlands lost their lands in Europe and NEI been created the NED ships are CW, no Ned anymore. Of course he has been mistaken sometimes, but maybe I will ask this at the mail list...




Centuur -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 7:44:12 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

Ok, then I would agree with Centuur.

Centuur, I spoke with the guy who is supposed to know more on WIF in my group and he disagrees with you, in his opinion had the Netherlands lost their lands in Europe and NEI been created the NED ships are CW, no Ned anymore. Of course he has been mistaken sometimes, but maybe I will ask this at the mail list...


I've seen your question in that forum. I'm pretty sure I'm right with this...




Joseignacio -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 8:03:08 PM)

You were right and we were not. Sigh.

For those who may be interested, this rule would apply for those minor countries who control other minors, like Belgium, Spain and Portugal, because they can convert the minor controlled in their new "home countries". Wouldn't be the case of Denmark, for example, because although D. controls Greenland, that is not another subordinate minor but a territory.




paulderynck -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 8:56:47 PM)

Yes it's a bug. Courtenay can you send in a saved game, please.

Mind you I can't see this one getting a high priority...




paulderynck -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/5/2013 9:03:33 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

Really? [&:][sm=00000116.gif]

I guess you must be right 'cause being your country Netherlands you probably paid much more attention to this details. Then we have been playing it wrong for more tan 10 years... I guess people treat them like CW because there is very few aspects (being reorganization one of those) where it affects the gameplay.

We consider them 100% british even with an incomplete conquest, I guess because of the special ruling of the Netherlands in the game (NEI creation).

Well that TRS can be plenty annoying because it does not stack with US or FF and will not transport their units and does not even transport CW Terriotrials except the ones from the CW majors...

And with MWiF the PITA will go on for a long time because of the existence of Dutch Guyana in all games, whereas the above problem is often gone in the boardgame when JP conquers NEI.

BTW in case anyone is wondering, if the Netherlands does not choose one of its minors as its new home country, instead choosing a CW major... let's say Canada!... it does not solve the problem (even if they choose the UK)!




Lucky13 -> RE: Minor country reorganization (12/31/2013 8:47:34 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Rule 11.18.4 states:
quote:

However, you double the reorganization cost of a unit if any reorganization point came from a co-operating major power or minor country.
Does this rule mean that reorganization costs are doubled if a reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or any minor country, or does it mean that the costs are doubled only if the reorganization point came from a cooperating major power or a cooperating minor country? That is, does the adjective "cooperating" apply to both "major power" and "minor country", or only to "major power"? In particular, if a minor country reorganizes its own units, should the reorganization cost be doubled?

I thought not, but MWIF disagrees, and when I parsed the rule I realized the rule was ambiguous.


These rules were a royal pain to code. The beta testers kept finding subtleties that required me for refine the code. There is no easy way to explain how the calculations are done, because the calculations are very difficult to do.

Action choice, unit type for unit being reorganized, unit type of HQ providing reorganization points, ATR type that provides reorganization points, cooperating major powers, minor countries, offensive chit used. These all affect the points required by the unit and the point(s) provided by the reorganizing unit. The points spent in the naval, air, and HQ reorganization phases are cumulative, so the program has to keep that straight too.

Trying to figure this out precisely in your head will give you a headache. My advice is just use the reorganization points as simply as possible and don't try to do anything 'clever' with them to eek out one more reorganized unit. In the long run, this will save you a lot of time, effort, and grief.


Ever heard of KISS ? [8|]




paulderynck -> RE: Minor country reorganization (1/1/2014 6:12:38 PM)

That was never an option in WiF, the boardgame.




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
1.359375