RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School



Message


rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/6/2021 3:02:15 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay
your point 2 is trivially true --
I love it! "Trivially true -- "
Next time I get a chance I'm going to use that on my wife. [:D]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/6/2021 6:12:28 PM)

I just wanted to follow up and see if you guys agree with me.

(1) 3 BPs seem to be flowing to the Free French just fine (through Dakar).
(2) However; the RP that the Free French are giving to the US isn't flowing even through I have the CPs in place to get it back to the US. Is there any reason why this Senegal RP shouldn't be making it's way back to a US factory?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/5AD47722F97D45BE92A737ACDFD307F9.jpg[/image]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/6/2021 6:13:50 PM)

4.4.0 (Debug),10,0 game file attached for those who are interested.




Courtenay -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/6/2021 6:29:06 PM)

I can't see any reason that the resource isn't going to the US.




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/1/2022 3:48:09 PM)

USSR has a disorganized LND4 on the Kola Peninsula during the EOT. It has no land connection to oil. There is a Allied CP in Arctic Sea that can be used for sea supply. However, all the Soviet ports bordering on the Arctic Sea are frozen. There is no convoy link to any other Soviet ports.

So I am wondering if USSR should be able to use oil to reorganize the LND4?

[image]local://upfiles/29130/79100FE2E92B4D919F15A827C6758FCB.jpg[/image]




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/1/2022 6:57:07 PM)

No.

RAW:

You cannot trace an overseas supply path either out of, or into, an
iced-in port if the weather in that hex is snow or blizzard.






Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/9/2022 10:17:23 AM)

Thank you.

It appears that I was mistaken in my question. There was a route available through the Saharan desert. [:)]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/10/2022 3:10:23 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

Thank you.

It appears that I was mistaken in my question. There was a route available through the Saharan desert. [:)]

I must be missing something because it looks to me if German controlled hexes has any overland oil route blocked. So it looks to me that the oil route has to cross the White Sea. What am I missing?




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/10/2022 4:36:00 PM)

The supply path goes from Russia, through the Middle East, Egypt, across the Sahara towards the Atlantic. After this there are convoys in all sea area's towards the unit. since the aircraft unit is on a coastal hex, the oil will be delivered...




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/10/2022 8:21:23 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

4.4.0 (Debug),10,0 game file attached for those who are interested.

Without looking at your saved game (I am still spending virtually all my time on the AIO), you might check that the trade partner for the non-oil resource is set to go to the US. Sometimes the game (after failing to find a path) will set the trade partner to the sending major power.

That is, the resource in Senegal might be set to send the resource to France (instead of the US). Changing the trade partner for the resource to the US fixes the problem. This happens a lot when I am trying to send 9 build points from France to the Commonwealth (just before France is Vichied).




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/21/2022 8:53:11 PM)

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

[image]local://upfiles/31901/8E2F8201836D481E81DB5C251BA71583.jpg[/image]




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/25/2022 3:27:37 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

[image]local://upfiles/31901/8E2F8201836D481E81DB5C251BA71583.jpg[/image]


One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/26/2022 7:15:42 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

[image]local://upfiles/31901/8E2F8201836D481E81DB5C251BA71583.jpg[/image]


One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]

Older eyes I'm afraid ... [8D]

Nice catch by the way. Shows you're paying attention. [&o]




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/27/2022 10:16:13 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

[image]local://upfiles/31901/8E2F8201836D481E81DB5C251BA71583.jpg[/image]

The program generates a random number at the start of every game. Hopefully with all the digits, it is a uniquely random number.

Every time the program does something that changes the "game state", it increments the Next Entry Number. Sometimes it is something that it is doing in the background, like moving units into the Force Pool, Future Force Pool, etc.

The background tasks are not sent to the other player in a NetPlay game. But all other changes generate a Game Record Log (GRL) which includes the Next Entry Number - before it is incremented. Those GRLs are sent over the internet by the program using the Private NetPlay Server.

When restoring a NetPlay game the program checks that both players are restoring the same game (the game numbers match) at the same place in the game (the Next Entry Numbers match).




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/29/2022 6:11:32 PM)

I need some help from you rules expert on understanding the ability to oil (i.e., reorg) the flipped Soviet CP in Sevastopol. In general, really, the ability to oil any Soviet unit in the Crimea including Kerch for example.

The situation:
(1) Use oil (reorg) phase.
(2) No saved (Soviet) oil in Sevastopol.
(3) Limited Oversea Supply optional rule in effect.
(4) No Soviet CP, TRS or Amph in the Black Sea.
(5) Unable to reorg Soviet CP in Sevastopol.
(6) Also, looked at an "alternate" situation when the flipped CP was in Kerch and still wasn't able to reorg it there either.
(7) So, I infer that oil for the purposes of reorganization cannot cross a "crossing arrow" regardless of the presence of a rail line that crosses the same straight.
(8) Though, I could ship an oil across and save it in Krech; but that oil wouldn't be available until next turn for reorg.

So, is MWiF coded correctly in that oil cannot cross a straight with a crossing arrow, even one with a rail line, for purposes of reorganization during the use oil phase?



[image]local://upfiles/31901/24D163DD7A39482090766EC2CD2D3B9D.jpg[/image]




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/29/2022 6:42:00 PM)

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/29/2022 7:38:25 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?

Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?




Courtenay -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/29/2022 9:00:11 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?

Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?


Yes, yes, and no. (The last no is for units in Crimea. Obviously an HQ might affect supply for units on its side of straights.)

P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (1/30/2022 8:51:11 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.

I'm about to report on this in gorey detail in our 6-player AAR. The short story is a breakthrough, exploration and overrun by the Germany player of the Soviets. Then a successful counterattack by the Soviets destroying the bridgehead and "trapping" the exploiting units. And then the turn ended.




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/1/2022 7:02:57 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.

This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/2/2022 9:12:48 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.

This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.


It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/2/2022 2:41:31 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.

This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.


It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.


Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/2/2022 10:10:06 PM)

Thanks




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/4/2022 6:51:27 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.

This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.

A Vichy CP only helps if Vichy France has become active.




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/4/2022 6:53:14 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.

This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.


It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.


Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.

Indeed. As long as the MP is not neutral. And Vichy France is often neutral, and thus unavailable to transport Italian resources.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/4/2022 9:57:35 AM)

Thanks too




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/8/2022 8:38:14 PM)

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/8/2022 9:19:57 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?

The answer is in the FAQ that I cut in below.

Q17.2-1
"Not currently in a Metropolitan French
port" does not include force pools, scrap
pile, repair pool, construction pool, and
production spiral correct?
A: Only original French home country ports
count. This does not include force pools,
scrap pile, repair pool, construction pool,
and production spiral, nor does it include
the port in the territory of Corsica. Date
19/01/2009




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/8/2022 10:09:49 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?


If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (2/9/2022 12:14:41 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?


If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2


You are wrong. See the post just above yours. This has been answered in the FAQ of the board game.




Page: <<   < prev  37 38 39 [40] 41   next >   >>

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.6875