Unable to Start Game (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Tech Support

aniketos -> Unable to Start Game (6/13/2015 1:16:20 PM)

Hello,

I just purchased the game thanks to the sale, I have been eying this game for quite a few years but, due to school, I decided to wait until I finished. Now that I am finished, I purchased the game. However, after installing it, I ran into some problems with both the version I downloaded from Matrix and the one on Steam.

First, to the Matrix version. The installation was very smooth and I had no issues. However, when I went to start the game I did not even get to the menu screen, let alone even a loading screen. I attached a picture of the problem below. I did some searching here on the forums to see if anyone had anything similar and the closest I got was something about windows media player being 99% of the problems people face when trying to play the game. Well, I have WMP and use it all of the time so I suspect that that is not an issue. However, my computer is relatively old and I tried updating Internet Explorer to version 11 as noted in the FAQ in the stickied section of the Tech Support forum. My computer cannot even support 11, however I updated it to 9 anyways. So, I am stuck with that problem. OH! I almost forgot! I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it with a new file path but that did not work either. (It's my first time using this forum in years but I tried attaching a picture so I hope it works.)