Yet Another Newb Question... (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

roguewarrior155 -> Yet Another Newb Question... (9/21/2017 2:07:15 AM)

I am new to PC war-gaming - totally new. I am interested in military tactics and strategy games, and I am purchasing 'Battle Academy'(1) this Friday. This game is listed on Slitherine as 'Complexity: Introduction', so my question for all you veteran PC gamers is this - what other military tactics / strategy games - at an 'Introduction' level, would you recommend? The particular war or weapons doesn't matter, I just don't want to jump in over my head and find myself overwhelmed and discouraged, as happened to me years ago with board games. Thanks in advance and my apologies if this type of question comes up frequently.

Rosseau -> RE: Yet Another Newb Question... (9/21/2017 2:12:39 AM)

I haven't checked the price difference - it could be significant - but Battle Academy 2 would be the better game and not add to complexity. Both games are also great for multiplayer.

Unity of Command is also a good starter game. But wait for a sale on Steam, as you can get the whole series for virtually nothing.

Have fun

Mike

roguewarrior155 -> RE: Yet Another Newb Question... (9/21/2017 2:35:02 AM)

Thanks Mike! I'm checking out both as soon as I send this...I do appreciate the tips!

C.

James Taylor -> RE: Yet Another Newb Question... (9/21/2017 2:51:18 AM)

It might be a little more definitive if we knew what board games you considered as overwhelming?

roguewarrior155 -> RE: Yet Another Newb Question... (9/21/2017 4:09:03 AM)