Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (CLOSED) (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> Opponents Wanted

guctony -> Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (CLOSED) (10/30/2017 1:05:53 PM)

Hi I am fairly new to game and even less experienced as a Soviet player.

I like to propose a challenge to experienced Axis players. A kind of What if.
What if: German assault started one week late. Keeping everything as it is with a house rule so soviets will not move anything but Axis has one additional turn to regroup his armies for a different start up. The start up movement advantage will be lost to Axis but I think My inexperience will surely reflect status of Stavka.

Would anyone interested with such a setup.

Guctony

SparkleyTits -> RE: Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (10/30/2017 1:09:16 PM)

That's a interesting idea man I would to see an AAR on this for sure!

guctony -> RE: Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (10/30/2017 1:15:12 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: SparkleyTits

That's a interesting idea man I would to see an AAR on this for sure!

Yeap Only if I can find an opponent

;)

RKhan -> RE: Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (10/30/2017 3:49:37 PM)

Re-arranging the starting positions may make up for the lost turn, but the Soviets are weaker on turn one due to surprise. It would probably be a pain to get past them even if you don't move them.

Also Soviet reinforcements will come a turn earlier, making the Dnepr a significant obstacle.

I think the way to play this is might be to agree modified victory conditions.

tyronec -> RE: Challenge for Experienced Axis Players (10/30/2017 4:09:27 PM)

That is a major difference to game balance:
1 move less to take Moscow.
1 move more for STAVKA to build up strength and entrenchments.
No turn 1 Axis surprise: multiple bombings and combat advantage.
How about play testing it as Axis vs. the AI to see what the impact is ?