Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> The Operational Art of War IV

Spectre195 -> Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 12:49:05 PM)

I am new to TOAW in general, and working my way through the tutorials. I beat Kasserine with a significant victory as the Germans, now I am trying to beat Tannberg as the Germans (against the PO)....but there is so many damn Russians. I don't know what to do. Also so many angles they come from. I can't seem to cover all the approaches.

The description of the scenario sounds like I need to be on the offensive to beat them back before I build up, but then I get pushed out and they find a hole in my line and slide in. Then I fall back and everything is a mess. The Northern part of the map is where I am really struggling. I think I am fine down south around actual Tannenberg, and Whillamsburg(?). But I just don't have enough troops up North.

Are there any good typical strategies for this scenario?

Tamas -> RE: Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 12:53:54 PM)

When you select the Tannenberg scenario, the rightmost button below should become active, showing a clipboard. It will open the scenario documentation that discusses the strategy to follow.

Spectre195 -> RE: Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 1:30:29 PM)

Oh didn't know that! Will have to take a look tonight. Thanks!

Oberst_Klink -> RE: Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 1:52:17 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Spectre195

Oh didn't know that! Will have to take a look tonight. Thanks!

And some more insights from some post war (WW1) USAAF college studies paper...

http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/a144263.pdf

Klink, Oberst

Spectre195 -> RE: Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 2:09:44 PM)

Oh wow this is really cool. Will have to check it out.

Oberst_Klink -> RE: Any good strategies for Tannenberg 1914? (12/11/2017 4:30:44 PM)