Questions regarding mining, resources and ships (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series

trueaaginor -> Questions regarding mining, resources and ships (3/15/2018 2:19:03 PM)

Hey folks,

I'm quite new to Distant Worlds Universe and try to get my head around the mechanics, their implications and so on. I red some Guides and like to play with as less automation as possible. There are some questions that came up will playing, maybe you can answer them?

Regarding mining:
- What means the percentage value of a resource on a space object? I understand the more the better, but how does this number effects the (which) game mechanic? What's the difference between a giant and an asteorid regarding resource mining (say, they have the same percentage on the resource)?
- There are private mining ships, they seem to be independent from "my" stations. Do they also add to the resource production? What's the difference between a mining station and a mining ship (beside the fact, that the ship is not immovable)
- How is the output of a mining station calculated? I understand, that there seems to be a "tick" (1 game day?) and each tick produces a certain amount of the given resource. How does stacking mining components effect the outcome?
- When I check the cargo of a mining station I see an amount of the expected resources for that mining station. But there is also a list of other resources, mainly at the amount of 50. Why are they there and from where did they come?

Regarding retrofit: