moving the communist 4-1 garison moving 1 space to the north east #1 and it is disrupted. Or it moves to the east to #2 and is not disrupted.
I cannot figure out what the different is. Seems both terrain is same and the river does not seem to cost more points to corss from the charts I have viewed.
Can someone tell me why one move is disrupted and one is not?
You are almost certainly playing with the optional rule where entering a hex that costs more than one movement point along a rail line costs one less movement point. So moving to the northeast costs two movement points, because of the rain, disrupting the GAR, while moving to the east along the rail line costs (2x1) - 1 = 1 movement, which the GAR has.