Combat inconsistency (especially on extreme) / potential bug (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Shadow Empire >> Tech Support

WeaverofBrokenThreads -> Combat inconsistency (especially on extreme) / potential bug (6/10/2020 11:36:06 AM)

The first time I lost a heavy battledress soldier to a slugthrower (2 final att score versus 1200 final hp) I thought 'Man, this guy used his whole life's reserve of luck to land that kill shot.'

After the third or fourth one, I stopped really caring. I got used to it. I sort of got a 'feel', a sort of intuition, for how well my troops will do even without knowing the exact science behind their performance. But then I started playing extreme, and the enemy obliterates my regular troops with a measly +20% mod. 'That can't be right' I thought. Then they obliterated my tanks as well.

I think there is something very wrong with the combat resolution code that merits taking a look at it. I think it is related to the AI specifically, as these things never seem to happen to me on attack or defense.

Conversely, even if I launch 2k attack score attacks on 100 final hp, the results are far from expected.

I can't post a picture because the forum hates me, but just imagine looking at the individual reports screen and it says: 67.3 vs 1964. It is a KILL result.

I understand there might be hidden mechanics, like critical hits or something, but I have not seen a single reference to this in any of the bonuses. The enemy did not have a champion, apoc paladin or any sort of unit feat that turns hits into kills - and to begin with, the idea that they got a hit in the first place is ludicrous. This happens way too often.

If there are hidden mechanics at play, can I please get an elaboration on how they work?