Newbie here... (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition

Statboy -> Newbie here... (8/31/2021 1:19:02 AM)

Bought this game several years ago, but it was too overwhelming and so I put it aside. If the COVID era has taught me anything, it's patience, so I've decided to give it a shot.

I've downloaded the game, the latest official patch, the unofficial patch, a tool to set up the game for a modern computer, my preferred map mod, and some updated scenarios from Andy Mac. And obviously the to-do list by Kull. And then I watched a fantastic series of tutorials and some Let's Plays from Strategy Gaming Dojo on YouTube, which I would recommend to any newbie.

I loaded up the December 8 scenario and messed around and everything is working properly.

But before I really dive deep into it, I was wondering if I'm missing anything. Should I play the December 8 scenario, or would you recommend something different?

Thanks.

Kull -> RE: Newbie here... (8/31/2021 3:37:19 AM)

It's a good place to start. The comment on patience was dead-on. Like a great woman, this game rewards those who take the time to figure her out.

Orm -> RE: Newbie here... (8/31/2021 7:58:54 AM)

Welcome, Statboy, to the forum. And to the amazing world of War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition. [:)]

GetAssista -> RE: Newbie here... (8/31/2021 8:22:40 AM)

A good pace to start is Allies in Coral Sea -> Guadalcanal -> Some other larger but limited scenario. Then same as Japan, then Grand Campaign.

This will introduce major game concepts relatively gradually. Although the learning curve is still a cliff [:)]

btd64 -> RE: Newbie here... (8/31/2021 10:24:33 AM)

If you have any history background on the Pacific War, that will help. The big thing is, be prepared to restart the scenario a few times as you're going to make mistakes. But that's OK. Just don't give up and you will soon learn to love this game. Welcome aboard....GP