Small Unit Tactics Research (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns

MelonHead -> Small Unit Tactics Research (10/20/2003 5:34:46 AM)

Hey everybody!

It's been a while since I've posted around here, but I've been browsing for a little over six months. Anyways, I was wondering if you guys could give me a hand with something I'm trying to do some research on.

I'm doing a study of small unit tactics in World War II (no larger than platoon size-preferably squad or fire team, but I'll see where things are going), and I've found a couple of books and stuff, but I was wondering if you guys know any good sites for US or German small tactics. Really the thing I'm looking for right now is a diagram of how squads were taught to operate. In particular, I want one demonstrating how a squad should set up a base of fire with a MG/automatic weapon (like the BAR) then move up under the base of fire, since that's my basic understanding of how these things work. I imagine there would be one in a field manual or something, but I have very little knowledge of how these things work-I'm just starting my research and have never been in the military. The big thing I'm looking for right now is that pic, but if you guys have any other suggestions of websites or books or documents those would be really helpful-my library searches have turned up lots of stuff but having more sources and more perspectives can never be bad, in my opinion. Thanks for any help!

STEELER13 -> nafziger (10/20/2003 8:38:24 AM)

http://home.fuse.net/nafziger/[COLOR=Blue]
Yo Sir,
Try the above link. That is Nafziger Collection and he has several $20 booklets on OOB's and Squad Tactics. I own one on Panzer tactics--excellent as are the OOB's(I own the German collection and several of the Russian)
Other things to try: