RE: No Box/Manual a mistake? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

wodin -> RE: No Box/Manual a mistake? (7/16/2004 3:02:43 PM)

So in effect if HTTR was sold as DD box and game it would cost no more than it costs now which is boxed game only.

Thats very good value. Thanks for clearing that up.

RealChuckB -> RE: No Box/Manual a mistake? (7/17/2004 1:54:45 AM)

Hi,

I want to mention an (huge) advantage of DD that was not discussed yet (as far as I can see at least):

No more CD-related copy protection!

For me, since I currently only have a laptop, this is one great thing.
I started playing computer games in the early eighties and so in the beginning I always had to juggle with diskettes (or even tapes). First with 5 1/4, then with 3 1/2. Then, in the nineties with larger HDs coming up, you only had to touch the diskettes once: For installation.
Afterwards, everything was on the HD, you could start any program immediatly without searching for the respective media - GREAT!

Then the CD came up and the old juggling game started again ... [:(]

Now, if you only have a Laptop without a CD Rom drive installed, you cannot play the games that depend on the CD being in the drive while playing. Actually, that was one reason, why I never looked into Korsun Pocket. It is possible to install the "No CD" files, but I, as a honest customer, hate to visit these questionable sites to have me enjoy my purchases ... (and, additionally, some games are not covered).

With regard to the manual: I LOVE good manuals. But they have to be in a useful format. For example, after opening the HTTR box and seeing the manual, I immediately looked for a printable PDF format, because this manual (in my opinion) was too small and would not stay open on the table while playing the tutorials.