A Newbie's Perspective-First Long Campaign:Germany Sept '39 (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SPWaW AAR/DAR

Cpl_Clegg -> A Newbie's Perspective-First Long Campaign:Germany Sept '39 (2/13/2005 5:07:18 AM)

Hi all,

I'm a newcomer to the forums here, just joined up today after being led here by the game menu on SP:WaW. I just posted an introduction in the new members thread so if anyone is curious about me you can check it out. I recently started playing SP:WaW again after downloading and installing it again, and have been playing around with many of the scenarios with mixed results. After my first embaressing defeat I decided to enlist a little help from the gaming community and spent quite a while reading up on tactics, tips and tricks and AAR's. While this helped quite a bit and gave me immense food for thought, some of the posts were a little too vague and often left me with more questions than answers. So I came to the conclusion that it was best to give the long campaign a try as best I can and learn from my own mistakes along the way.

And so being a relative newbie at the game and reading the excellent posts of the various members here has spurred me to write an AAR/DAR from a novice's perspective during my first ever World War II Long Campaign. I intend it to chronicle the learning curve of a newbie, detailing my successes, my failures and also the lessons learned along the way. It is my hope that by doing so I can encourage you guys to read and respond with your 2 cents to help a struggling novice to come to grips with this excellent and most daunting of games, and make a friend or two among the members here while I'm at it. All posts are welcome, especially those offering critiques and/or sagely advice and I hope that you can keep your patience with a doddering newcomer and aid my education into the ancient and honorable art of War. First post coming soon!!