CoG and historical outcomes (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Crown of Glory

David Fisher -> CoG and historical outcomes (7/13/2005 3:06:04 PM)

hi,

I downloaded CoG recently and have had a quick go at playing -- nothing serious, just trying things out. One of the messages that popped up caught my eye -- something about "Russians fighting Tunisians in English Channel." It got me wondering about the historicity of CoG. What kind of outcomes have players had that seem to mirror the history of those times? What have been some of the "crazier" outcomes? (like Russians gaining control of the English Channel from the Tunisians...)

Just to clarify: I'm talking more about historical "flavour" than exactly reproducing what happened. History within broad parameters.

My other query has to do with POWs. This is the first game of its type I've come across that "models" this. Kind of took me by surprise. Just seemed -- odd. I'm no expert on the period, but I had never thought of POWs as contributors to their captors' national economy. Didn't French prisoners at the Nore spend their time whittling whalebone or something ("scrimshaw")? Can anyone enlighten me here? Is there a historical basis for this, or is it included solely for gameplay reasons?

cheers

David Fisher

ezjax -> RE: CoG and historical outcomes (7/13/2005 4:21:45 PM)

POW’s,[:@]
You will find they are more of a liability then an asset. Stick them all behind your lines in a Province with a low forage rate and let them die off works best for me. They are to easily liberated by drunken Cossacks roaming your Provinces or by Defeated Army’s that jump over you and get behind you after you defeat them in battle.
I believe for game play they should just be a statistic you see after you win a battle, or a hidden asset that you can use until that Nation surrenders. Not some 5th element Unit waiting to be liberated and rearmed by Cossacks.