Map Graphics (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Lock ‘n Load: Heroes of Stalingrad

Bull Man -> Map Graphics (9/9/2005 7:01:53 PM)

No doubt, the graphic work in the game is well done, and I am already enjoying playing it. But, at the risk of being a "turd in the punchbowl" I have to raise the question of one graphical aspect of the map. I am completely befuddled as to why a bright white border was placed around all the hex grid lines, center dots and reference numbers. The end result seems more distracting from the map terrain than necessary. This is all the more perplexing since the map landscape is so beautifully done. Wondering if it was just me, I walked across to the graphic arts department at the college where I teach (I'm a humanities professor) and asked some people there, and they were as well confused as to why such a distracting enhancement to the grid was added. In effect, an overlaid hex grid should aid play on the map, not dominate to the point that the eye is visually drawn more to the projecting values of the highlighted grid then the map terrain that recedes behind it.

Just curious mostly, and probably personal preferences will show many don't see the same problem. I recall the old Squad Leader maps which worked well with simple unobtrusive hex lines. So unless Matrix is considering offering reprinted maps (or downloadable file) for sale (I would surely pay for it), I am already at work at scanning and removing the white highlight. The result is already impressive - in my opinion - and hopefully I will soon have all the maps "repaired" and mounted on the reverse sides.

Scotbot -> RE: Map Graphics (9/10/2005 7:20:36 AM)