RE: Nice analysis at Strategy Zone (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III

*Lava* -> RE: Nice analysis at Strategy Zone (10/11/2005 7:43:04 PM)

Hi!

Indeed, the scenario itself had lots of errors. Do you think that this problem of having to wait long periods of time is more scenario specific or is a part of the game?

I do remember playing an "all of WWII" scenario that was abstracted so as to keep the numbers of different equipement down (all tanks were PzIV's, for example), and it ran quite smoothly.

Now I will say without hesitation that I am not an expert at this game, just love playing it, but it seemed to me that the major source of the problem "appeared" to be the quantity of units in the scenario.

Ray (alias Lava)

Wolfie1 -> RE: Nice analysis at Strategy Zone (10/11/2005 10:26:11 PM)

Ray (Lava) One question - why do you insist on playing the AI? I play a number of wargames (ACOW, Campaign Series, WitP) and only play the AI enough to understand the mechanics, nothing beats the challenge of a Human opponent, I think things will change in 5-10 years but at the moment if you have internet access I don't see the point of playing an AI. Sorry if I've missed a major point.

Mantis -> RE: Nice analysis at Strategy Zone (10/11/2005 10:29:26 PM)

Ray - I think the errors are all design-related. The 'wait time' is something that could have been easily handled with events (capture of objective X = surrender of certain formations, and the beginning of the next part of the scenario). Events are quickly exhausted for scenarios of this nature, and it's likely that the designer didn't have enough of them available to invest them in this type of operation. It *could* be done, however, and have the game flow more smoothy, but likely the author chose to use them for other purposes.

*Lava* -> RE: Nice analysis at Strategy Zone (10/12/2005 2:21:02 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Wolfie1