Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Rommel - A great general?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> The War Room >> Rommel - A great general? Page: [1] 2 3 4   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Rommel - A great general? - 9/29/2006 2:06:04 AM   
coach3play4

I'm playing the TOAW Africa senarios. One reason I like wargames is that you can learn things you didnt know about military history (thru the what if senarios etc). (Note: what I'm about to say i want to qualify - I feel that I'm reasonably well read on WWII - BUT I am by no means an expert - so dont jump on me here - I'm really asking for people that know more for their opinion!)

The question is - did Rommel rally do a great job in the Africa campaign - or is history simply biased because the big time British propaganda machine hype Rommel up (since they beat him) or did the German press hype him up - as a needed straight guy hero.

If you play out these excellent scenarios - You can see that Rommels two great drives took place against forces that had been really weakened by withdrawals to other fronts. Im a lousy wargamer - and even I can do what he did!
So the question is - do you put rommel up with the great generals of WWII? For example - if he was that great why didnt the Germans put him on the Russian front - instead of his assignment to Africa. Are we simply misled by old Brit propaganda here?
Post #: 1
RE: Rommel - A great general? - 9/29/2006 8:32:32 PM   
golden delicious

quote:

ORIGINAL: oleary111