Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

A vs. B corps

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> A vs. B corps Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A vs. B corps - 1/26/2008 11:26:37 PM   
Sieben_slith

Hi, I'm new to this game. Can someone tell me the difference between corps rated A and those rated B? For CP units they have the same ratings for strength and readiness. Also, between artillery units rated L and those rated S-L? I'm sure I'll figure it out, but an explanation would save me some set-up woes for my first game.
Post #: 1
RE: A vs. B corps - 1/27/2008 12:43:51 AM   
boogada

Its the quality of the troops. A corps represent full trained professional regular army troops. B are traditional reserve units and so on. Troops loose quality when a country gets exhausted and loses moral, or if they got too much damage and replacement troops. The quality has an influence on some game stuff.

S-L arty is siege artillery, designed to knock down enemy fortifications. Very useful against forts.

(in reply to Sieben_slith)
Post #: 2
RE: A vs. B corps - 1/27/2008 1:08:14 AM   
Sieben_slith

Hi boogada,

I understand the historical meanings of A vs. B corps, just wondered what difference it made in game terms. I've played paper and cardboard wargames since I was a pup (and I'm an old dog now), but the manual for this game is about as useless as any I've ever seen. Still, it looks like a really intesesting game and I look forward to PBEM when I get up to speed.

danke schoen,
Sieben Elfriend
(my CRPG moniker)

(in reply to boogada)
Post #: 3
RE: A vs. B corps - 1/27/2008 1:14:09 AM   
boogada