Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Novice HCE Questions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Modern] >> Larry Bond's Harpoon - Commander's Edition >> Novice HCE Questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Novice HCE Questions - 1/29/2008 1:36:38 AM   
gbnf

I have read the Harpoon 2 strategy guide and I still have some few questions. Forgive me if they sound obvious. I’m just learning about naval warfare and am trying to figure out a few things before I actually buy this game.

1) Does the manual have the typical amount/type of armaments that are on each type of plane, ship, and sub? Will it give the approximate range of the missile/torpedo and how it finds its targets (HARM, infrared, acoustic, laser, ect…)? It will be even harder to determine the saturation rate of a single ship, let alone a battle group unless we know what defenses the enemy has. Wikipedia is informative, but there’s no way to know whether that information is accurate, or more importantly if it’s accurate in relation to the game.

2) How do you do a battle damage assessment when the only assets you have are ships (CVN’s notwithstanding)? How do you do recon, at the beginning of a scenario, when you don’t have any air assets? Do you just choose a picket ship with adequate AAW defenses and send it out in a search pattern and have it turn on its radar briefly every few minutes?

3) Is HCE suited for beginners? There is so much information in the strategy guide that I wonder if I will end up being overwhelmed.