Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Conquest of Minor Countries

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Tech Support >> RE: Conquest of Minor Countries Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/14/2008 5:33:51 PM   
Jimmer

 

Posts: 1968
Joined: 12/5/2007
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: zaquex

Thats logical and also how the boardgame works

Thank you

zaq

The difference in the boardgame was that the conquest step and the lapse of war steps were in the same phase (diplomacy), in different steps of that phase:

quote:

3.0 SEQUENCE OF PLAY OF THE GAME
A "Turn" in EMPIRES IN ARMS represents one month of real time. Each Turn consists of a number of "phases" which may be further broken down into "steps. " Each phase or step is completed by all players before going to the next. Any phases or steps that do not apply during a Turn can be skipped. The sequence of a Turn (also given on the Game Card) is as follows:

[ 3.1 ] * THE POLITICAL PHASE: See 4.0. Players interact to achieve the game's political goals. This phase is performed in steps, as follows:

A. The Diplomacy Step.
B. The Declarations of War Step.
C. The Call to Allies Step. The order of calling is determined by competitive die rolls.
D. The Peace Step. Peace term selection order is determined by the order the major powers went to war.
E. The Creating Alliances Step.
F. The Minor Country Control Step. Setup in the order: France, Russia, Turkey, Austria, Prussia, Great Britain, Spain.
G. The Breaking Alliances Step.
H. The Free State Declaration Step.
I. The Declaration of Combined Movement Step.


On the above index, the letters correspond to numbered rulebook items in step 4 (the political phase). This uses the boardgame rule ordering numbers.

Control is gained in step 4.6 (3.1.F in the index above, the minor country control step). However, lapse of war occurs in 4.4 (3.1.D in the index above, the peace step). Even though lapse of war is defined under 4.6.6, the effects occur during the Peace Step (4.4).

quote:

[ 4.4 ] THE PEACE STEP: Peace may be made only at this time. A lapse of war with a minor country may also occur during this step (see 4.6.6). Peace must be in one of the following forms.



quote:

4.6.6 LAPSE OF WAR WITH MINOR COUNTRIES: If, during any Peace Step prior to the conquest of a minor country, any invading major power has no corps within that minor country, then that major power is considered to be no longer at war with the minor country and must be at war with the major power controlling it before he can attack it again. Any garrisons, cossacks and/or freikorps are repatriated as per 4.4.6.2. NOTE: For multi-districtminor countries (see 10.4), this applies if a secondary district has been conquered and there are no invading major power corps within the rest of that minor country.



_____________________________

At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?

(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 31
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/14/2008 5:35:57 PM   
Jimmer

 

Posts: 1968
Joined: 12/5/2007
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: zaquex

It is true, but as I said if the minor or anyone else you are at war with besieges your garrisson the conquest will fail and the war lapse so leaving with your corp/s is not always free of risk.

Excellent point. IF you are at war with a third power, and that third power besieges the garrison, you will not gain control. Since you no longer have corps present, the war will lapse.

However, this occurs in one of only two ways: If the third power has access, or if the third power is at war with the minor's controlling nation.

_____________________________

At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?

(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 32
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/14/2008 5:41:52 PM   
Jimmer

 

Posts: 1968
Joined: 12/5/2007
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: delatbabel
No, I don't think so because the French can't detach a garrison into the capital.

quote:

any non-artillery, non-feudal or non-insurrection corps may detach factors as garrisons at, or absorb army factors from, depots and/or unbesieged friendly or vacant cities
(from the rules)

Because the city isn't empty, and isn't friendly (Wurzburg is an enemy city until conquered by Prussia), France can't put a garrison into the city. The only time that a die roll is used to determine control is this:

It happens nearly every turn, so, yes, I'm right.

"Vacant" must not really mean "empty" here. It means "not full", as in "he had a vacant expression on his face".

_____________________________

At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?

(in reply to delatbabel)
Post #: 33
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/14/2008 5:44:40 PM   
Jimmer

 

Posts: 1968
Joined: 12/5/2007
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: delatbabel
Because the city isn't empty, and isn't friendly (Wurzburg is an enemy city until conquered by Prussia), France can't put a garrison into the city. The only time that a die roll is used to determine control is this:

quote:

10.3.2.1: If a city has a garrison consisting of army factors from more than one major power, control is with the major power formally controlling the province or minor country. If no army factors of the major power formally controlling the province are present, control for combat purposes can be decided by mutual agreement among the players with army factors present or, if agreement is impossible, by competitive die rolls with no modifiers.


However that only occurs when two allies have both posted garrisons to a third party neutral city and neither of them can decide who the actual city controller is, for the purposes of firing the port guns, etc. In this case France and Prussia aren't allies, and so France can't drop garrison factors into a Prussian controlled city. What happens instead is that France besieges the city which is enemy controlled (Wurzburg), the neutral Prussian garrison surrenders, and then France immediately wins the battle against the non-existent Wurzburger enemy forces and occupies the city. What should happen then is that France waits another month to gain conquest.


You are translating the word "vacant" as "empty". While this is one of the possible meanings of the word, it is not the only one. And, in fact, your very example proves this is not the right definition:

If it had to be empty, how did the second power get factors into the city, not having control established previously?

_____________________________

At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?

(in reply to delatbabel)
Post #: 34
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/15/2008 1:01:34 AM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
This is an area where I think the rules of the original game is inconclusive - it all comes down to the definition of friendly. I would personaly lean towards saying that in this specific context "friendly" means not hostile, as in not at war with (which is different from the interpretation i would do in some other contexts) and this means that if there is unused capacity in the city it can be garrisoned as long as the city is controlled by a none hostile garrison and the city is owned by someone you are at war with.

If you take it a bit further and reason about it it might be logical if the garrison(or owner of the garrison) could decide who to let in to the city. This is however not suitable for the PBEM game at least not at this point as it would require changes to the GUI to be able to set who is allowed or not. Concidering that the power outside the city always can force a neutral garrison to surrender it would be alot of work for no real benefit.

I did read the rules about minors quite carefully yesterday and I lean more and more towards that the normaly accepted way how to interpret the rules of minors you accept control over is not what the designers intended. We should really have Marshall ask Harry the question as its quite important for the dynamics of the game.

_____________________________

An Elephant

(in reply to Jimmer)
Post #: 35
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/15/2008 1:12:35 AM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
To add to that:

If the alternative interpretation of the minor control rules was correct France wouldnt be allowed to garrison, beseige or conquer the city at all.

_____________________________

An Elephant

(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 36
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/15/2008 4:17:52 AM   
Tater

 

Posts: 60
Joined: 12/25/2007
Status: offline

quote:

The difference in the boardgame was that the conquest step and the lapse of war steps were in the same phase (diplomacy), in different steps of that phase:


No they weren't..."minor country control" is not the same as "conquest".

I don't have the rules in front of me but I am prety sure the "conquest" step was at the end of the turn...after all land movement and combat.


_____________________________

Later-

Tater

(in reply to Jimmer)
Post #: 37
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/15/2008 5:20:22 AM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
Conquest step is the last step of the land phase in EiA and its also the only step of the land phase that is done simultanously by all players.

< Message edited by zaquex -- 2/15/2008 5:21:52 AM >


_____________________________

An Elephant

(in reply to Tater)
Post #: 38
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/19/2008 2:51:20 PM   
pzgndr

 

Posts: 3170
Joined: 3/18/2004
From: Maryland
Status: offline
Bump. I'd still like to know if there is a bug(s) that needs to be reported and fixed, or if this is how EiANW is intended to work. Marshall or Richard, any word?

(in reply to pzgndr)
Post #: 39
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/19/2008 4:48:18 PM   
Monadman


Posts: 2085
Joined: 12/6/2005
From: New Hampshire
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: pzgndr

Would the presence of French corps moving into Wurzburg constitute an interruption and deny me a conquest, giving it to France instead??



No, that would not constitute an interruption. Worse, I ran a test and was able to confirm that the program was indeed allowing France to take control at the last minute and steal the conquest from Prussia. Not the first time dealing with this bug.

Man, this thread was a good read.

Thanks

Richard


_____________________________


(in reply to pzgndr)
Post #: 40
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/19/2008 10:50:20 PM   
delatbabel


Posts: 1252
Joined: 7/30/2006
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Monadman


quote:

ORIGINAL: pzgndr

Would the presence of French corps moving into Wurzburg constitute an interruption and deny me a conquest, giving it to France instead??



No, that would not constitute an interruption. Worse, I ran a test and was able to confirm that the program was indeed allowing France to take control at the last minute and steal the conquest from Prussia. Not the first time dealing with this bug.

Man, this thread was a good read.

Thanks

Richard



So can we get this fixed in an upcoming release? Or at least added to the current bugs thread?


_____________________________

--
Del

(in reply to Monadman)
Post #: 41
RE: Conquest of Minor Countries - 2/20/2008 12:31:55 AM   
Jimmer

 

Posts: 1968
Joined: 12/5/2007
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Tater


quote:

The difference in the boardgame was that the conquest step and the lapse of war steps were in the same phase (diplomacy), in different steps of that phase:


No they weren't..."minor country control" is not the same as "conquest".

I don't have the rules in front of me but I am prety sure the "conquest" step was at the end of the turn...after all land movement and combat.


You are correct. I stand corrected on this point.

quote:

[ 7.7 ] THE CONQUEST STEP: This step is performed after all major power sequences are completed. It can be performed any convenient order. Control flags are changed to show the conquest of minor countries and their change of control. The control flags are changed only if the capital of the minor country was occupied during the previous Turn and the conqueror has maintained uninterrupted and unbesieged occupation for the entire current Turn. A newly conquered minor country is always marked with a conquered control flag. (old rules, from http://eia.xnetz.com/rules/eiarules-with-errata.html)

4.4 is the "Peace Step", during which a lapse of war can occur.

So, ultimately, it's very close in the current iteration to what it was in the boardgame.

Note that corps counters are not required for conquest to occur (an issue that came up earlier).

_____________________________

At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?

(in reply to Tater)
Post #: 42
Page:   <<   < prev  1 [2]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Tech Support >> RE: Conquest of Minor Countries Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

1.031