Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Britain Surrenders 1st

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> Britain Surrenders 1st Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Britain Surrenders 1st - 3/30/2008 7:10:14 AM   
Sewerlobster

I'm new to GoA and have just finished my first full campaign. I tried twice before but stopped before finishing because I did not understand the fundamentals of the mechanics of the game. Anyway I finished 1919 w/197 VP and a major victory.

What confuses me is that I somehow managed to cause Britian to surrender. In fact they went before Russia. As a newbie I really was just concentrating on learning the land tactics and really didn't exert a naval threat. I sent the subs on anti-shipping (restricted), but basically sent my transports and half my fleet to the Baltic. I did send fleets to the North Atlantic, but I did not purchase any naval points until late -- mid '17. My Western offensives were early and concentrated on my right through Belgium and into France as far as Lille but not into Epernay. Once there I concentrated on Russia (AH did well). There was no British-Turkish combat at all. So really the only British losses were self-inflicted.

Did I just get lucky? Did my not having a fleet in the North Sea on the 1st turn allow Britian to send and lose too many in defending Belgium?(Come to think of it -- I did corner and kill two large stacks of French and British units in Dunkirk and Ostend early.)

I guess what I do not understand yet since I haven't even played TE, is what would cause Britian to surrender so seemingly easily?
Post #: 1
RE: Britain Surrenders 1st - 3/30/2008 9:31:31 AM   
wargamer123