Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Just got BGNW....

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> John Tiller's Battleground Series >> Just got BGNW.... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Just got BGNW.... - 5/2/2009 2:11:56 AM   
V22 Osprey

The gameplay is very differnt from Battleground Civil War!Some of the game mechanics are different and is gonna take alot to get used to.But I have to say grahpics are a definite big improvement over civil war, even the 2D graphics.Overall a great buy, especially with the bonus Age of Sail which I'm still learning(game just came in the mail today after all).

Any tips, this is my first napoleonic wargame and I'm having a tough time getting used to things like only being able to change formation in the Defensive phase.

And, I now have all the John Tiller game packs(BGCivil War and Campaign Series and now BG Napoleonic wars)

< Message edited by V22 Osprey -- 5/2/2009 2:14:56 AM >
Post #: 1
RE: Just got BGNW.... - 5/2/2009 12:45:23 PM   
Andy Moss

Civil War and Napoleonics are very different. Orientation of the maps is different and so are a number of aspects of gameplay. Graphics are better. You can melee whilst disordered. No ADF. But the biggest difference is the use of skirmishers of which you can develop a whole subgame on that subject alone. I prefer Napoleonics I have to say.

Start with a small scenario playing both sides manual. Then play the AI. Then increase scale. Don't start with full Waterloo or Borodino. Then you can if you wish start playing another human in PBEM mode, the AI isn't really much of a challenge.

Then of course there are all the free add-ons soon to be available!!!!!

(in reply to V22 Osprey)