Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Interested in CC... will I be happy with it?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Close Combat Series >> Close Combat: The Longest Day >> Interested in CC... will I be happy with it? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Interested in CC... will I be happy with it? - 8/25/2009 9:33:40 PM   
Binchois

Hi folks,

I just ordered my copy of CC:LD after much deliberation, and am anxiously awaiting its arrival! I've never actually played or even seen the CC series, but I am a board game veteran (ASL especially). The big selling point for me was CC's inception as an ASL simulation, and from what I've heard it went its own way while maintaining the overall scope of SL. Basically I have two questions for the collective wisdom:

First; for those of you who know ASL in any of its incarnations - how does CC measure up? Sight unseen, I imagine the details of a squad plus its morale/behavior to be a real strong point. And, naturally, a computer simulation wil do a better job with various fog-of-war issues. But what about the overall scope of the game? The variety of units, equipment, terrain, etc... In ASL, it seems that virtually everything that existed during WWII exists in the game and virtually anything you could imagine doing - like swimming or cliff-climbing! - could be attempted in the game... I suspect the scope isn't as vast, but is it excitingly broad or frustratingly restrictive?