Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Is CAP useles or did I miss something?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> RE: Is CAP useles or did I miss something? Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Is CAP useles or did I miss something? - 4/1/2010 9:43:31 PM   
AcePylut

I don't believe radar, at the time, had altitude capabilities.  I think it was more like "there's a big blob over there at bearing 330 at 50NM" sort of radar... not, "there's 100 2 engine planes and 45 Single engine planes flying at 300kias at 12,147ft ASL, bearing 330, range 50.123NM, heading 150"

And I like your thinking Kwik E.

Being a private pilot I know how "clear" clear weather can be.  "Clear" can be clear with 3 mile visibility, it can be clear with unlimited visibility.  Clear does not mean 'crystal clear' with no wind.  Clear weather just means that there isn't more then 10% cloud coverage.  Ground Haze is not considered cloud coverage, nor is fog, it's considered "Clear".

We need to break the mold that people think, when they see "clear" weather.  We need to "get into peoples heads" that weather is imho THE most important thing, the thing that can be used to justify a great many "uncoordinated" results. 

For I have flown in "clear" weather that made me sweat a little on my navigation.  I"ve dead-reckoned, and the results did not put me in the exact location I wanted.  This was all having a great weather forecast, accurate maps, Detection level 10 on the target airfield, slow aircraft that's forgiving of mistakes, backup navigation called "GPS", VOR, Loran.