Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Please explain movement range to me

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Please explain movement range to me Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Please explain movement range to me - 4/4/2010 3:36:24 AM   
profanicus

Hi, I'm new to the game but loving it so far! My understanding is growing but I am baffled by some things, for example:

The large dashed circle around my ships - the galactopedia says that this represents the ship's movement range, to "visually gauge how far it can travel before requiring refueling".

But when I fly the ship to a location at the edge of this range, the circle has hardly shrunk at all & I have over 70% of my fuel still left.

Can anyone help me understand what is going on here? :)
Post #: 1
RE: Please explain movement range to me - 4/4/2010 4:16:08 AM   
Grotius

I'm puzzled about this too. I think maybe the manual mentioned something about the ship slowing down and using less fuel as it approaches low fuel?

Also, if you speed things up, you will see the circle does shrink substantially as you move. Then the shrinking slows down -- maybe the ship does too?

(in reply to profanicus)
Post #: 2
RE: Please explain movement range to me - 4/4/2010 7:19:49 AM   
profanicus

I looked in the manual and it says that when the ship runs out of fuel it travels at 1/3 speed until it is refueled again. Nothing about reducing fuel use when fuel gets low that I could see.

Ships consume energy at different rates depending on the speed (impulse, cruise, sprint, hyper), so that explains the variance in the circle shrinking speeds I guess.