Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Modding a Sol style system

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Design and Modding >> Modding a Sol style system Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Modding a Sol style system - 8/16/2011 4:36:10 AM   
Tnarg

Hello, I'm new to DW ROTS but have been an avid fan of x4 Space Strategy since the days of MOO2.

I was reading Cavgunner's Terran Republic AAR and was very interested in the idea of being able to mod a solar system similar to ours for starting. Who doesn't love roleplaying out the Humans, but ambitions are squashed by the idea of having Terra out in fringes of some solar system named Ibeteuka (spelling) as a gas giant moon.

Long ago I edited a whole Star Trek galaxy for SEIV. Granted that was only a 255 star system map and things seemed a bit more simpler as far as saving and uploading it.

I played around the other night trying to recreate my own Sol system. While time consuming, I think I got the hang of it; however, I wouldn't like to do this every time I start a new game.

So I guess what I am looking for is advise on going about making these changes and have them available as a mod or something that I could use again and others if they want. If that is able to be done, I might as well do a majority of the closest stellar neighbors to give a bit more flavor.

Better yet maybe this has already been done and I have overlooked it?

Thanks for any advice.
Post #: 1
RE: Modding a Sol style system - 8/16/2011 7:24:31 AM   
Data

Hi Tnarg and welcome to the forum. Afaik it has been done before but we'll have to dig for it; if I find the thread I'll post it here.
Have fun.