Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

What I learned in my first game of WiTE

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> What I learned in my first game of WiTE Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
What I learned in my first game of WiTE - 3/13/2012 2:59:51 PM   
goannaman

I am completely new to computer wargaming, and I thought maybe somethings I learned from my first attempt at this game would help some other new people.

I played through (mostly) the Road to Leningrad scenario. If you are brand new like me, I recommend downloading and following along with the PDF of Operational Boot Camp: For Gary Grigsby's war in the east. It helped me out greatly.

Lesson 1: Multiple save files are your friend. I didn't do this, and the game bugged during the final AI turn. Kind of a bummer, but at least it didn't happen in a grand campaign situation.

Lesson 2: My organizational skills suck. I was constantly shuffling units between HQ's. Keeping things more well organized is going to be a focus in my next go around.

Lesson 3: What do I do with AP's? Ok, so that was more of a question. But really, I don't know what to use them for. I found myself with a surplus. I feel like I'm ignoring part of the game (mainly building up new units, which I have no idea how to do)

Lesson 4: I suck at the air war. Honestly, I don't know what to do here, but my planes were pretty ineffective and I had almost no available fighters towards the end of the game.