Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Guide Newbies

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> RE: Guide Newbies Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Guide Newbies - 12/9/2014 1:00:41 AM   
Christolos

quote:

ORIGINAL: sPzAbt653

Tactical Rounds is up at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA5kbyT_9SM&feature=youtu.be

Many thanks for these excellent videos!

While I am not a newbie to wargaming in general, I must admit that there is a fair amount of stuff to learn not only to become proficient at playing TOAW III but to also understand the game mechanics so as to appreciate the game and avoid the frustration that can sometimes set in when trying to learn something new.

Keep up the great work!

C

(in reply to sPzAbt653)
Post #: 61
RE: Guide Newbies - 12/9/2014 1:33:46 AM   
Curtis Lemay

quote:

ORIGINAL: CC1

Hi,

I started looking at your first move in your "France 1944 D-Day" scenario (to get some insights into helping me with the game learning curve) and had a question regarding the tactic of choosing a limited number of units to attack the beach hexes when you could otherwise attack with more units.

You do allude to the fact that it would be wasteful to attack with more units because the Germans have a lot of supporting artillery but I was wondering if you could elaborate on this a little more. Especially in the context of your doing this in the Omaha beach sector when facing a much tougher force.

I can sort of understand that you want to avoid defensive fire from the supporting artillery but wouldn't you also want to maximize the amount of damage you could deal to the defending unit as well?