Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

OOB window suggestions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Command: Modern Operations series >> OOB window suggestions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OOB window suggestions - 7/12/2015 12:44:06 AM   
profanicus

I'm new to the game (loving it btw), so this has probably come up somewhere before and I missed it. Apologies if that is the case. :)

So, the OOB window is great for tracking the groups of units or tasks in play and I like keeping it open for this purpose. However, it has some clunkiness to it that could be improved:

1. The window takes over focus. Most other windows still allow the game's hotkeys to function, such as the game speed controls, or toggling other windows. This is not the case with the OOB window. Even pressing 'O' to close the window doesn't work as it does with others in the game. Game hotkeys should still work when this window has focus.
*edit - Game hotkeys seem to be working for me with the window open now! So I guess it's just the 'O' key to toggle the window closed that doesn't work.

2. Game changes are not reflected - if I change a group name or un-assign a unit from a mission, you have to close/open the OOB window to update the data. The data should update whilst the window is open.

3. Collapse/expand status is not remembered - if I collapse/expand some groups using the little 'minus/plus' buttons, I'd prefer it if they were in the same state the next time I opened the window. Similarly, it should remember the tab I was on as well. Some programs also allow you to use the modifier keys (ctrl,alt) to expand/collapse all sub-groups at once, maybe this would be handy too.