Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Observation about Soviet side of play

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns: Barbarossa >> Observation about Soviet side of play Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Observation about Soviet side of play - 11/30/2015 12:00:23 AM   
gunnergoz

Admittedly I'm still learning this game and have so far only gotten into August playing as Soviet. I did read the manual carefully (I'm one of those guys who relish a well-written and detailed game manual and this is one of the best ever.) It did not take me long to notice that by design choice, the Soviet forces never receive replacements and instead new armies take their place.

I've read enough of the history of the Eastern front to know this is by and large true for the time frame involved. In game play terms and as a design choice, it works.

As a player, however, it frustrates me no end to see army commanding generals becoming more and more competent, only to have their armies shot to pieces and the HQ vanish once the divisions are all destroyed.

I suppose my gripe is really that the game is too short to allow me to see those army commanders come back in charge of newly raised armies as happened later in '42-45. (Am I really complaining that a game is too historical? Not really. This is a gameplay point, not a historical one.)