Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

First thoughts/questions/etc.

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns: Barbarossa >> First thoughts/questions/etc. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
First thoughts/questions/etc. - 12/29/2015 5:55:06 PM   
dermax

After a little back and forth I took the plunge and picked up Barbarossa as a little Christmas gift to myself last week. I'm very glad I did. I spent the first two days - before even starting the game - pouring over the manual. It is beautiful and informative!

It just so happens that I'm currently reading "Barbarossa Unleashed" by Craig Luther. Pairing that book with this game is absolutely awesome. I started playing last night - deciding to dabble for a bit before bed. Four hours (and two turns) later, I snapped back into the realization I had work in the morning. It's that easy to lose yourself.

The scale is wonderful. Large enough to feel like the Russian front, small enough that you can manage it - even a "micromanager" like me. There is just an indescribable feeling when you break through the Russia lines only to find... more Russian lines... and then more Russian lines. No wargame has ever made me feel as aware of what it must have been like to face an apparently inexhaustible foe.

All told I have a few questions and then I plan on starting over; taking what I learned in this first foray and going from there. So here's a couple questions in no particular order - all from the perspective of a German player...

Questions