Centuur
Posts: 8802
Joined: 6/3/2011 From: Hoorn (NED). Status: offline
|
quote:
ORIGINAL: warspite1 quote:
ORIGINAL: Courtenay quote:
ORIGINAL: warspite1 Axis End of Turn Malarchy Establish Vichy Government: Yes No idea what that was all about but apparently there were no throws for Algeria, Syria or Morocco. Free France controls nothing and is completely conquered. Is that even possible? If there is a French BB not in a French port, two is subtracted from all Vichy rolls. This makes 10 and 9-10 automatic. The French then rolled less than a 9, less than a 5, and less than a 4 on the remaining three die rolls. Clearly the French were exhausted from fighting so long. About time you got some luck in this game. warspite1 Sorry I just don't get it. I can see why the program never rolled for: Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia French West Africa Syria Indo-China and All other territories and minors The maximum that could be rolled (with the -2) is an 8 and so achieving the 10 or 9-10 range required is impossible. I can also see why Madagascar - range 8-10 (roll 6(4)) All Asian minors & territories - 7-10 (roll 7(5)) French Equatorial Africa - 3-10 (roll 2(0)) all failed. But why did the roll for All Pacific Ocean minors and territories - 2-10 (roll 7(5)) fail? The roll was within the range? Surely this is Free French? EDIT: There is one possible explanation - although this is just guesswork as I can't see anything in RAC that suggests this. Could it be that as there are no Pacific Ocean minors and territories with a capital (Indo-China is dealt with separately) therefore Free France can't be set up without a capital? I tried rolling the same numbers (except this time I threw a 10 for Madagascar). Madagascar (which has a capital) went Free French - and so did the Pacific Ocean minors. So I tried the same again (putting Madagascar back to rolling a 6) and this time All Asian minors and territories (which, like the Pacific territories, don't have a capital) rolled a 10. Same answer. Free France is completely conquered. Finally I allowed French Equatorial Africa to fall within Free French range and again it worked. There are five capitals to choose from and so Free France was set up and the Pacific territory of New Caledonia joined it. I ran the original numbers again and it is weird that the dice roll for the Pacific doesn't show (which only adds to the confusion) but at least the concept makes sense. But, unless I've missed it, why can't this be explained in RAC or RAW? You are completely right here. It's somewhat confusing, but that's the rules. By the way: if you want to continue this game and not get into trouble, you should load the last beta test version. The alternative is to answer "no" every time you get question to revert former French controlled minors and territories to Free France (because Free France will not exist in this game, until Paris is liberated, according to the rules). In the latest version for the beta testers, this bug has been fixed.
< Message edited by Centuur -- 12/30/2019 12:45:10 PM >
_____________________________
Peter
|