Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

First Impressions from a Beta Tester

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Uncommon Valor - Campaign for the South Pacific >> First Impressions from a Beta Tester Page: [1] 2 3   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
First Impressions from a Beta Tester - 2/1/2002 10:54:00 PM   
Snigbert

I just started playing last night as part of the Final Beta Phase, and let me tell you that this game is really cool. I was glued to the computer for hours before my fiance came by, wiped some of the drool from my chin and told me I should get some sleep because I had to get up for work in a couple hours. Here are some initial impressions. Keep in mind I have no affiliation with Matrix or 2BY3 aside from them letting me test the game. 1. The map is really beautiful. I was playing on 1024x768 with a 19" monitor, and I spent a lot of time just moving around the map admiring how nicely the art was done. Screenshots dont do it justice. 2. I had a hard time finding bugs, it's obvious they've spent a lot of time working out the problems. Very stable, never crashed or anything on me. 3. The database of ships and planes is very large, I couldn't think of a type of ship or aircraft that wasn't included (even the often forgotten ones) 4. There is a lot going on, but you can set certain aspects of the game for computer control to make things more managable if you are inclined to do so. 5. Combat is really interesting to watch, and models very closely the kind of results you would expect. Anyway, sit tight and the game will be available soon. I think you'll all like it. Matt

"Money doesnt talk, it swears. Obscenities, who really cares?" -Bob Dylan